top of page

Working Knowledge and Research Reflection

Being that this is my first interaction with the inquiry question process, I am excited to note the fact that we are able to uncover unreached depths of our topic using questions and statements that open the viewer’s eyes dramatically. However, the topic I have chosen can be biased, and at many times very opinionated. These critical subjects are what drives my imagination and critical thinking skills to deter any original conception the reader may contain at any given time.

I have been disgusted at the unnecessary torture that individuals undergo when being locked away. With that being said, I do appreciate the fact that our government has established a primary treatment to get felons and criminals off the streets of society. But is that really good enough? Why are metal bars, caged tightly together considered a more reliable source of punishment than outrageous fee’s or provoking daily rights?

When researching a possible optimistic viewpoint for my subject, numerous credited articles and sources have overwhelmed my own thinking and given me assurance that I am not the only individual who view’s prison as a torture box. Diseases, fighting and abuse take place every day in prisons. The government prohibits these images from being spread around our nation in hopes of preventing writers like myself a chance to question the true productivity of prison and the inmates within the facility.

I have found it very noteworthy that prison is not the ultimate cause of ending violence once the inmates have been released. In fact, since 1999, more individuals have been locked up for drug related use (58%) than violent crimes (12%). According to ebscohost.com, it is easier for our government to just “lock them away.” How is this helping anyone? Is there no better way to teach American’s the proper ethics than to just put them behind bars and feed society with lies of prison cells delivering equal returns?Our own available library resource database and Google Scholar has helped myself plan an attack with my inquiry question regarding prison and its underlying moral. Items such as the misconduct of inmates inside the building, the Parole Decisions being based on race and ethnicity, long and short term effects prison takes on the inmates and even gruesome images of the cells that are required to keep the “dangerous” individuals.

Even though I have one inquiry question I plan on using, I would also like to confront my readers with information on proper jail sentences and an agreeable method to avoided prison, yet teaching a more profound life lesson. While doing so, I am in desire of finding out why government officials have not changed this terrible system. With the population growing, more problems are yet to occur. If I am the slightest bit educated, not everyone will act appropriately and will need some sort of obedience training. Will prison dominant other punishment sources? How long will this process of abusing citizens inside the indestructible walls continue? This problem is just the beginning of the rampant discussion that I plan on sharing.

Link to Wix Writer Website:http://wgarris5.wix.com/trey-garrison-1


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page